Online Marketing/Digital Marketing Glossary

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I will be writing about online marketing glossary in this blog post. Since there will be many terms in my coming posts which will have these terminologies used so it is wise to go through this post so that don’t get stuck or be unaware of what is being talked about.

404 – An error message when a page cannot be found on a website.

301 Redirect – A permanent redirect from one URL to another. 301 redirects are often used to mask affiliate links.

302 Redirect – A temporary redirect from one URL to another URL. This is helpful in SEO.

Adsense – A contextual ad serving platform run by Google which allows website owners to earn money by placing ads on their sites.

Adwords – An advertising network run by Google to allow advertisers to place ads across Google products such as Google search engine. Google ad network, YouTube, Gmail etc.

Ad Inventory: ad inventory is the space available for ads on a website.

Affiliate – Also called publisher who actually promotes the product of any brand.

Affiliate directory – a categorized list of affiliate programs.

Affiliate manager – the person responsible for managing the affiliate program for the merchant.

Affiliate marketing – a revenue share model wherein an affiliate is paid on performance in terms of sales, clicks, leads etc. by advertiser or merchant.

Advertiser/merchant – a party whose product is promoted by an affiliate.

Ad Network: a mediator or an agency which connects a publisher with the advertiser. Ad network provides the tracking as well as marketing services to advertiser. Ad networks work majorly on CPC or CPM model.

Affiliate network – a mediator or an agency which connects an affiliate with the advertiser. Affiliate network provides the tracking as well as marketing services to advertiser. Affiliate network works on CPA model.

Affiliate software – is a tracking software which provides tracking for sales/commission etc. generated by an affiliate. It is used by an advertiser or affiliate networks.

Agency: agency is mediator who manages the complete marketing budgets of a client. Agency handles display media, SEM, Affiliate channel, SMO etc.

Backlink – when one website has a link to your website.

Black hat SEO – unethical ways to boost your website ranking in Google. This is done by using automated tools to create lot of backlinks to your website.

Blog – An online journal or a sort of magazine or a collection of articles by an individual or a company where one can share opinions and discuss various topics.

Bot – A computer program that can interact with the internet, usually to automate tasks or scrape data.

Bounce Rate – The percentage of people that leave a site without visiting any other pages.

Broken Link – A backlink that points to a page which no longer exists and returns a 404 error.

Campaign: a campaign is nothing but product associated with the advertiser. There can be multiple products by an advertiser and each campaign will have a specific product associated with it. E.g. a travel advertiser such as yatra.com can have Flights, Hotels, Bus tickets as product so there can be 3 campaigns from the same advertiser.

Cache – Serves static versions of dynamic web pages to reduce server load, bandwidth and increase page speed. This is normally in your browser’s files. If you have opened any website multiple times then images or other files are called from cache.

Call To Action (CTA) – Words or buttons that encourage the user to take a certain action. Clicking on a link or making a purchase for example.

Canonical – the preferred/main page when multiple pages have same content. This is used in SEO in order to prevent Google from panelizing due to duplicate content reason.

Captcha – A challenge/response test to reduce spam. Usually asking people to type in the characters they see in an image or solve a simple math problem.

Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) – A web language used to apply styles to web elements such as font size, colour, background & alignment.

Click Through Rate (CTR) – The percentage of users that saw an Ad & clicked it. If ad was displayed 1000 times and clicks were 40 then CTR will be 4% (=40/1000*100).

Content Management System (CMS) – A user friendly system to manage and publish a range of content online including text, images & videos.

Content Spinning – When you take a seed piece of content and ‘spin’ it with alternative words and sentences to produce hundreds of unique articles.

Conversion – When a user takes the desired action. Perhaps signing up to an email list or buying a product, that user has ‘converted’.

Conversion Rate (CR) – percentage of clicks that converted to a conversion, e.g. 1000 clicks generated 40 conversions then CR will be 4% (=40/1000*100).

Cookie –  is a small text file that is used by web browsers and websites to store data such as login sessions or to track your activity across a site. It is also used for reporting by various Ad Networks/ Affiliate Networks.

Copywriting – The use of words to create compelling text usually used to sell products or grab people’s attention.

Crawler – A bot or piece of software that crawls the web to extract and create an index of data.

Cross Site Scripting (XSS) – a security vulnerability in web forms that can be used to inject code & gain admin access.

Cloaking/URL Masking: cloaking is hiding the original URL referring to a advertiser’s site e.g. an affiliate is sending traffic from www.xyz.com to client www.advertiser.com but the link on the site that goes out to the client is www.abc.com which redirects to www.advertiser.com so client will see www.abc.com as referrer, instead of www.xyz.com.

Conversion IP: Conversion IP is the IP of the device where the conversion has taken place.

Conversion Pixel: this is a small image pixel (of 1×1 size) which is placed on the thankyou page which comes post the transaction has taken place.

Cost per Action (CPA): is the type of revenue model wherein an affiliate or a publisher is paid on an action only. An action can be a sale, a lead form, a subscription or a download or an install.

Cost per Click (CPC): is the type of revenue model wherein an affiliate or a publisher is paid on click.

Cost per Sale (CPS): ): is the type of revenue model wherein an affiliate or a publisher is paid on a sale.

Cost per Install (CPI): is the type of revenue model wherein an affiliate or a publisher is paid on install.

Cost per Download (CPD): is the type of revenue model wherein an affiliate or a publisher is paid on a download.

Cost per Lead (CPL): is the type of revenue model wherein an affiliate or a publisher is paid on a a lead.

Cost per Acquisition (CPA): is the type of revenue model wherein an affiliate or a publisher is paid on a user acquired.

CPM (Cost per Mile): is the type of revenue model wherein an affiliate or a publisher is paid on per thousand impressions.

Domain Name: domain is your website’s name which starts with www. This is a unique name to your website. Every website has a unique domain name associated with it. There can be multiple extensions to a domain such as .com, .in, .org, .net etc.

Duplicate Clicks: all clicks generated from the same IP or by the same user are duplicate clicks. Clicks generated from the same user are counted as one unique visit.

Dedicated Hosting – Website hosting that is not shared with any other webiste. You have a dedicated server serving only your website without sharing resources with other sites. This is costlier than normal shared hosting.

Deep Linking – deeplinking is generally used in affiliate marketing, when you want to send the user to an internal page (instead of a home page or default page set by the affiliate network) on website you are actually doing deep linking.

DoFollow – A backlink that can be followed by search engine crawlers. DoFollow links are or importance as they value your site.

Duplicate Content – Two webpages that share either duplicate or very similar content. This is a key cause of the Google Panda penalty and your website may be penalized.

Hosting: hosting is a memory space located somewhere else where our website files are stored.

Impression: an impression is associated with advertisement. Every time an ad is displayed on any website it is called an impression.

IP: IP is the address of a computer connected over internet. This is unique to a device (mobile, laptop or tablet). Complete internet is based on IPs.

Google Bowling – This is known as Negative SEO which means maliciously trying to lower a competitor’s website standing with Google.

Google Dance – When a websites ranking in Google fluctuate instead of being stable. Google Dances often happen in the first few months of a websites life or after link building.

RON: Run of Network.

SEO (Search Engine Optimization): is a collection of methods utilized to bring the website up on search engine result page for a keyword. It is also called organic search marketing.

SERP: Search engine result page

SEM: Search engine marketing or paid search marketing.

Session IP: session IP is the IP where user session started or user clicked on a banner or accessed the website from. This may change if the IP is dynamically allocated.

SMO/SMM (Social Media Optimization/Marketing): is the marketing activity on social media platform such as Facebook, Twitter, Google +, Youtube, etc.

 Super affiliate – an affiliate capable of generating a significant percentage of an affiliate program’s activity.

Target Audience: group of people who will be interested in your website’s content/product or services.

Tracking URL: this is the URL provided by the affiliate network which is redirected to the advertiser’s website. Every affiliate has a unique URL specific to a campaign. It is used to track affiliate sales/conversions.

Traffic: clicks or visits on any website are called traffic on that website.

Two-tier affiliate program – affiliate program structure whereby affiliates earn commissions on their conversions as well as conversions of people or affiliate they refer to the program.

Unique Click: every new click or click generated 1st time visitor is a unique click.

Unique Visitor: a unique visitor is the first time user of a website within 30 days time period. Every new visitor to a website is unique visitor. This metric is calculated for time period of 30 days normally.

URL: URL is Universal Resource Locator and is the unique address to your website page.

URL Masking/Cloaking: cloaking is hiding the original URL referring to a site e.g. an affiliate is sending traffic from www.xyz.com to client www.advertiser.com but the link on the site that goes out to the client is www.abc.com which redirects to www.advertiser.com so client will see www.abc.com as referrer instead of www.xyz.com.

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